zur Hauptnavigation springen zum Inhaltsbereich springen

BayWISS-Kolleg Energy www.baywiss.de

Mitgliedshochschule University of Bayreuth

© Uni Bayreuth


The University of Bayreuth is the youngest university in Bavaria. It was started in 1975 as one of the first universities in Germany with an interdisciplinary founding mission – and continues to implement this mission today. Interdisciplinary and networked research and teaching are the key feature of the more than 150 degree courses at seven faculties in natural and engineering sciences, law, and economics as well as linguistics, literature and cultural studies. This is evidenced by the outstanding ranking results and awards for scientific excellence in research and teaching. The exemplary cooperation between many strong faculties creates synergies that are naturally also reflected in the range of studies provided. Time and again, the University of Bayreuth is one of frontrunners when founding innovative degree courses: Health Economics, Sports Economics, Philosophy & Economics, Global Change Ecology, are so successful that they are being imitated elsewhere.

The University of Bayreuth consistently top rankings for its international focus. One of the reasons for their good performance is the close networking with partner universities worldwide: It maintains more than 150 partnerships with foreign universities, and its programmes make it possible to study in English or to acquire international double degree, for instance.

In addition to the internationally enriched range of courses, support during their studies and the distinctive reference to professional practice, the approx. 13,500 students value the freedom to organise their study time individually, and the good social climate on the spacious green campus.

The University of Bayreuth employs some 2,500 academic and non-academic staff, of whom around 240 are professors. The University of Bayreuth thus ranks as one of the most important employers in the region. It allows society to participate in knowledge gained on campus, while initiating sustainable and innovative developments. Since it sees itself as an important part of the Bayreuth region, the University of Bayreuth maintains continuous exchange with actors in its environment – clubs, associations, and companies – and is in intensive contact with the citizens.


Prof. Dr. Stefan Leible

Prof. Dr. Stefan Leible

Vice President

Prof. Dr. Torsten Eymann

Prof. Dr. Torsten Eymann

The university is a member of the following BayWISS Joint Academic Partnerships:


Economics and Business


Social Change

Life Sciences and Green Technologies

Ressource Efficiency and Materials


Currently 1 professor of University of Bayreuth is active members in our Joint Academic Partnership Energy.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dieter Brüggemann

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dieter Brüggemann

University of Bayreuth

Doctoral Candidates

Currently 1 doctoral candidate of our Joint Academic Partnership Energy is being supervised at University of Bayreuth as part of our cooperative model "Verbundpromotion".

Tobias Popp

Tobias Popp

University of Bayreuth


Zentrale Stellen, Service und Beratung

Promotionsberatung für Studierende und Absolvent*innen an der University of Bayreuth

unklar, wer tatsächlich aktuell Ansprechpartner ist..


Universitätsstraße 30
95447 Bayreuth
Gebäude Angewandte Informatik
EG, Raum 0.11

Academic Life Long Learning


University of Bayreuth

Die Campus-Akademie ist ein wissenschaftlicher Dienstleistungs- und Weiterbildungsanbieter der Universität Bayreuth.
Zu den Angeboten zählen zertifizierte Lehrgänge, berufsbegleitende Studiengänge und Unternehmensschulungen. Zudem ist die Campus-Akademie mit Forschungsprojekten, wissenschaftlichen Veranstaltungen und im regionalen Netzwerkmanagement aktiv.

Contact Person
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dieter Brüggemann

Telephone: +49 921 557160

Press and Communications


Get in touch. We look forward to your questions and ideas for our Joint Academic Partnership Energy!

Dr. Astrid Schweizer

Dr. Astrid Schweizer

Koordinatorin BayWISS-Verbundkolleg Energie

Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
Lehrstuhl für Energieverfahrenstechnik
Fürther Straße 244f
90429 Nürnberg

Bürozeiten: Mo – Mi 08.30 – 14.30 Uhr

Telephone: +49 911 530299230